Daniel Day-Lewis and Throwing Stones at Israeli Apartheid

The Cool Table

Navigating Syrian activist Razan Ghazzawi’s blog last night, I came across the most interesting excerpt on her sidebar. It read:

[Israel] is a state of apartheid. It’s taken me less than a week to lose impartiality. In doing so, I may as well be throwing stones at tanks.

What caught my attention was that the quote was attributed to one of the most honey-01-650x830masterful actors of our time: Daniel Day-Lewis. At first, I wondered if this was another one of those popular misattributions to famous folks from overly zealous activists. It was, much to my surprise, not. The piece, written on March 20th 2005, is no longer available on the Times’ website. Despite this, I think Day-Lewis’ writing, observations, work and thoughts are profound and deserve to be read. I do not know, at this moment and time, if he still believes what he has written here — I…

View original post 4,595 more words

Leave a Reply

